Starbucks Mocha Coconut Frappuccino Makeover

There are some cravings I get when I walk past a Starbucks in the summer.  One particular craving: the Mocha Coconut Frappuccino.  Last weekend I gave it a shot…and now I am so satisfied.  I’ll never have to buy one again! The best part is that you can make them all year round, and they’re seasonal in stores…and given that it summer, the homemade version is much more kind to your waistline and your wallet!  You’re welcome 🙂

Before posting this I did a little research, and checked out the nutritional info for the Starbucks version.  Boy am I glad I gave this baby a makeover! Having looked at the contents, I don’t think I’ll be getting the in store variety again.  I was a little shocked at the amount of sugar.  When you look on their website,  you look based on a Grande (medium) size with whole milk and whipped cream.  It contained 62g of sugar!  I’m a lot more concerned with that than I am calorie count.  So, using their handy dandy website I quickly changed the drink to analyze to what I would actually order: tall size (small), no whip, and skim milk (though I use almond milk at home).  The drink still contained 42g of sugar.  Lucky for you, my version’s got no refined sugar! Here we go:

This recipe makes 2 servings.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup flaked coconut (unsweetened)
  • 1.5 cups almond milk (unsweetened), or milk of choice (coconut milk would be awesome!)
  • 2 T + 2t dandy blend* OR instant espresso or instant coffee (if you want to use real espresso, definitely go ahead–just chill it before, measure it, and decrease the amount of almond milk to compensate for liquid espresso you’re adding)
  • 4 T cacao/cocoa
  • 2/3 cup greek yogurt
  • 6 ice cubes
  • 4 packs stevia
  • 2 T coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp coconut extract

How to:

  1. Toast the coconut in the oven/toaster oven at 350 for 2-3 minutes.  Keep a close eye on this, it burns quickly!
  2. Reserve a couple of tablespoons of the coconut, and blend everything else.
  3. Top with remaining coconut.
  4. ENJOY!

*Dandy Blend:  Is what I use instead of coffee.  I quit coffee last fall while on a cleanse.  I wasn’t planning on staying off forever, but my withdrawal was so bad that I definitely didn’t want to get back after I got used to life without it.  I started drinking this powdered beverage instead.  It’s made of extracts of roasted barley, rye, chicory root, dandelion root and beetroot.  It is a natural diuretic, but it also replenishes your potassium stores (which coffee doesn’t do).  I will admit, that a hot cup doesn’t taste quite the same as coffee, but I’m okay with that.  In a blended drink like today’s you really can’t tell the difference!

Before you run off and make this drink (after writing about it I think I even have to go make another right now!) I need to share what’s coming up because i am soooo excited.  I have cracked pie crust/pastry!  It’s taken a little while, but I have some hand pies, with a really awesome crust coming up:


I’ve also continued on with my personal maki revolution.  Can you guess what these guys are made of?

And then there was a breakfast superfood pizza:

2 thoughts on “Starbucks Mocha Coconut Frappuccino Makeover

  1. WHOA THERE! HOLD.DA.PHONE!

    You say you cracked pie crust? And you’re gonna have me wait for the recipe? Oh maaaaaaan. That is so unfair. Now just how LONG do I have to wait?

    My guess is I’ll have plenty of time to whip up one of your decadent looking frappuccinos while I wait. 😉

    ps Good on you for giving up coffee. This is one thing I have NOT yet succeeded at doing. I still need my morning cup, unfortunately. No caffeine… no workout!

    • I can’t wait for you to try the pie crust, and the frappuccino! I bet you can guess the secret surprise ingredient! It’s one of our mutual favorites 🙂
      I hope to have some time on Friday to post it!

Leave a comment