Tropical Quiona Sushi, Easy with a step by step guide

Hi there! In case you’re wondering, you are at the right place.  I’m just in the middle of a bit of a makeover.  I might be sticking with this new theme for awhile, we shall see!  Any thoughts on the look?  Also, there’s a fun little icon on the right sidebar of the home page…you should go check it out :)

This recipe came as a result of the Holistic Food Prep class that I took last month.  Sushi was one of the many things that we made.  In class, Marni mentioned that we can use whatever grain we want for sushi!  It seems silly that I hadn’t thought of this before, being the grain and flour substitute-r that I am, but I hadn’t. Quinoa sushi became a plan.  This is delicious and surprisingly easy. Since I was going unconventional on the grain, I wanted to be a little different for the entire roll.  Tropical sushi was born.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 2 inches fresh ginger peeled and chopped
  • 2/3 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 and 1/4 cups mango, thinly sliced
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • 1/4 c goji berries
  • 4 T agave nectar
  • 5 nori sheets
  • 1/2 t sea salt

Necessary tools: rolling mat and plastic wrap, a small bowl of water

How to:

  1. cook the quinoa in 2 cups of water with ginger
  2. let quinoa cool, and set aside
  3. meanwhile, prep the mango and avocado
  4. when it’s cooler, stir in the coconut, salt and 1 T agave into the quinoa mixture
  5. set up your wrap your rolling mat in plastic wrap (easier cleanup, less sticking) and arrange your ingredients so they’re all easily accessible

Time to roll!

  1. place 1 sheet of nori on your plastic covered rolling mat
  2. spoon the quinoa mixture on top, pressing down.  leave a 1″ border at the top
  3. add the mango and avocado about an inch from the bottom
  4. Start to roll!  Try to keep a nice tight roll going, and be sure to tuck the nori under your ingredients as you roll the nori/mixture combo over the avocado and mango
  5. Keep on rolling, until you get to the empty part of the nori.  Now it’s time to wet the nori with a little water (just use your finger), and seal it closed.  Run your finger on top.
  6. Place it on a plate in the fridge, making sure the wet side is down (to help it hold it’s shape).  Refridgerate for at least 1 hour before cutting.
  7. When you cut, make sure you saw!  This will keep the structural integrity of the rolls.
  8. Now you get to add gogi berries into the top of each roll!
  9. Serve chilled with agave to dip.
  10. ENJOY!

 


Don’t think I forgot about the contest! 
Thanks for the ideas!  Although I will likely find myself inspired in the near future by all of the ideas (especially the peanut butter milkshake!), the winner is going to be MyBeautifulAir, because she suggested something that’s been on my to-do list for far too long: cinnamon rolls! I know exactly what I want to do for the filling, but the dough will be a challenge.  Fluffiness and healthiness don’t always go hand in hand, but I’ll find a way!  I’ve got one pack of instant yeast sitting on my counter right now. If I can nail this recipe in one go, I know what we’ll be having for breakfast!

 

10 thoughts on “Tropical Quiona Sushi, Easy with a step by step guide

  1. Thank you! It’s actually a new theme, with a new header I made…we’ll see if I move to wordpress.org in the near future, and then get even more changes! My computer savvy-ness is having some growing pains at the moment! Yes, I love the quinoa option far more than rice, and the texture is great!

  2. Pingback: Risotto Maki Rolls | Cravings Gone Clean

Leave a Reply

