Super Thai Pizza and Vacation recap

This pizza goes out to anyone who likes a good benedict. It’s been too long!  I’ve been away from my kitchen and my computer for over a week now, and I’ve got about 500 new photos, and not enough time to share them. First let’s do a recipe, then I’ll share a few pics.

Last night I unpacked, and tonight I made up for lost time in the kitchen.  With this make shift amazing pizza. I also made a cherry pie that involved lots of chia seeds. That one is cooling on the counter as I write.  But this pizza was dinner.  And it was good. Gooey saucy good.  Somehow gooey without the cheese, and pretty full of veggies, which made me feel good about eating it!

I had some bold intentions for this pizza when I walked into the kitchen, involving a sweet potato crust, and caramelized onion sauce.  My hopes were dashed when I opened the drawer where we keep those guys–there was a moldy mess!  I was grumpy at the icky cleanup to be done, hungry…and I was left with the few ingredients I had spontaneously picked up.  Determined to make an innovative pizza from scratch.  I had also been dying to try a pizza with an egg on it since I saw one over at Nora’s blog awhile ago. I had very few things around…and pretty much used all I had.

Off I went.  I have to confess that I made the pizza before I cleaned up the mess.  I was hungry, and I knew there’d be baking time!  Wanting to stick with an innovative crust, I opted for carrots…which somehow lead me to using spicy peanut sauce as the sauce…some fresh broccoli and peppers to top, and an egg for each personal pizza.  Breakfast or dinner? As always, you decide!

Crust Ingredients:

  • 2 cups large flake oats
  • 1/2 cup ground flax seeds
  • 1 T agave
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 cups matchstick carrots

Topping:

  • 1 cup broccoli chopped
  • 1 cup pepper slices
  • 4 T spicy peanut butter (peanut butter mixed with chili powder and red pepper flakes to taste)
  • 4 eggs

How to:

  1. steam carrots for 7 minutes, meanwhile prep the broccoli and peppers
  2. add carrots to food processor with agave, water, and half of the oats, and blend
  3. add remaining dough ingredients, and blend until a dough forms
  4. divide dough into 4 equal balls
  5. on a floured surface, with floured hands and a floured rolling pin, roll the each ball until it’s about 7 inches in diameter
  6. top with peanut butter and toppings (but not eggs)
  7. pinch sides up a little to give the outside a more pronounced crust (so the egg doesn’t run out later)
  8. bake at 400 for 8 minutes
  9. pour one egg on each pizza, and return to over for another 12-13 minutes, until egg is solid on outside (but gooey on inside)
  10. allow to cool for a couple minutes before ENJOYING!

This was delicious.  The combo of flavors works so well…the spicy and the sweet and the gooey egg.  I can’t believe I’d never done an egg on a pizza before.  I love the results.

Good to the last bite.

I’ll share just a few vacation shots. We were in Arizona, doing a lot of hiking, trying not to get heat stroke or sunburnt, and being mesmerized by odd things like the Out of Africa wildlife park.
I have a thing for this yoga pose, dancer.
A healthy version of this cake might be in order:

This looks like a giant asparagus:
But it’s a tree!  Here, Cam’s make sure.

Here a tiger contemplates a ride.
Tiger takes that ride.  Really.
That tiger isn’t trained, the staff just go on it’s natural playing instincts…though it was pretty nerve wracking to watch, I have to say.  I mean, he does look pretty fierce in some instances:
And now I’ll leave you with a view of some red rocks.

What type of food could I make that would be red rock inspired?  I’m not sure. But I am glad to be home where I can run in the shade, and not be afraid to lean on a tree, despite how pretty AZ is.

Next time, a contest/challenge! 

2 thoughts on “Super Thai Pizza and Vacation recap

Leave a Reply

