The green smoothie that doesn’t taste green

The green smoothie…it looks so green…yet tastes so fruity. I had this for lunch the other day when I was in a rush, and I love doing it for breakfast, or sharing one as a mid-day pick me up.

Image

This smoothie has been promised to some of my personal training clients.  One client makes a big blender of smoothies for the whole family each morning. This would be a fantastic way to sneak some veggies into everyone’s breakfast.  The only problem? The color!  I told her to put it in colored or opaque cups with lids and straws so the kids don’t notice.  I haven’t heard the verdict on that one yet.  Lots of other people just need to sneak some more veggies in to their day, and they might as well get started with breakfast!

And I swear, although I love spinach in savory dishes, I don’t necessarily want to drink it and taste it…BUT you don’t taste it in a smoothie! I promise.

You can be flexible with the ingredients, even the proportions, depending on how thick you’d like it, and what you have around.  Lately, here is my go-to recipe:

  • 1 cup frozen fruit–mango and bananas work particularly well for texture (if you have fresh that’s okay too, it just won’t be as thick or cold)
  • 1 c (or more) milk (I use almond milk, and put in enough to cover the fruit in the blender)
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (skip if it’s just a snack, or decide how much depending on your protein needs. If it’s breakfast, definitely add the protein)
  • 2 BIG handfuls of baby spinach 

Blend it all–if it’s too thick, feel free to add more milk or some water. 

Other optional add-ins:

  • 1 tbsp ground flax seed, chia, or hemp to up the fiber and get some omega 3’s (again, this is a great place to hide things)
  • A few spoons of kefir–A great way to get some probiotics into your digestive system.  Careful–kefir isn’t the same as Activia.  Good yogurts have bacteria that colonizes, so it helps you more than the day you eat it.  Activia yogurt isn’t colonizing, so the day you don’t eat it, you stop reaping the benefits.  These good guys help crowd out the bad guys…so eat fermented dairy, and fight the good fight!

Smoothie eating tip:

Chewing actually helps to release the digestive juices you need for proper digestion, so even though you don’t need to chew a smoothie the same way you need to chew a piece of meat, you should actually try pacing yourself as you drink and mimic a bit of a chewing motion–you’ll absorb more nutrients!

What’s your favorite thing to sneak into a smoothie?

Come back next time…it will be my 100th post, and I’ve got some exciting news to share!

9 thoughts on “The green smoothie that doesn’t taste green

  1. I like to add sliced almonds and raw sunflower seeds to mine so that there is no mimicing any chewing. You actually get to chew the pieces that don’t get pulverized if you make it that way.

  2. Enjoying your site so I’m nominating you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for informative, illuminating blog content. I know not everyone participates in blog awards but I hope you’ll at least check it out because it’s a great way to discover new blogs and meet new web friends. If you’re interested in participating, you can check out the details at my site …http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Either way, hope you’re having a great day!

    • Thanks so much, I’m very flattered! I did a couple of awards within the last couple of months, so I don’t think I’ll be making a post about this right now, but I do really appreciate you visiting, and the nomination. I totally agree that it’s a great way to discover new blogs, but my reading list needs to grow before I do more awards again 🙂

Leave a Reply

