Rustic Chocolate Pear Goat Cheese Pie

I have earned a dessert recipe!

I’ve been holding this one back, I’ve been trying to do a little more savory around here, and it seems to be working!  The Pad Thai I posted earlier this week got me more hits than I’ve ever received in one day.  I guess I should be using some take out menus for inspiration on a regular basis. What should the next thai recipe be?

Before jumping into the next recipe, I’ve got to apologize for being a little wrong with some of my categorizations of the last recipe, I’ve since learned that there is gluten in soy sauce, and I have also learned that legumes are not Passover friendly, so peanut butter is a no go.  Then, I remembered that legumes aren’t Paleo friendly.  So, I’m very sorry that I made some false promises, but I hope my adapted pad thai does get your wheels turning in terms of how you can further adapt the recipe to suit your dietary needs.

Now, onto time for chocolate. A lot of my inspiration comes from reading other blogs.  As soon as I saw Sonia’s post for caramelized pear, chocolate and goat cheese smoothie I really really wanted something baked…a tart or a pie, made of the same thing.  I adapted a dough recipe..I was hoping for flakiness (with my use of coconut oil), but I ended up with more of a pie crust.  Still, no one is complaining. I think this recipe will get repeated over and over…and I might just keep toying with the crust.

 This  combination of sweet and a little salty is a winner…but adding caramelized fruit and chocolate? Double winner. And chocolate in the crust?! Hello.  And yes, this was dessert…and then breakfast the next day. Onto the recipe.

Crust Ingredients:

  • 2 t stevia (optional)
  • 1/2 c flax seeds ground
  • 1 and 3/4 cups spelt flour
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 c +1/8 c coconut oil

Topping:

  • 3 T goat cheese
  • 3 pears, sliced and caramelized in their own juices (about 5 mins a side on medium heat)
  • 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips

How to:

  1. put all dry crust ingredients in the food processor and pulse together
  2. add coconut oil, and pulse
  3. add almond milk through the feed tube, continuing to pulse/blend until dough turns into a ball
  4. wrap in plastic wrap and set aside
  5. preheat oven to 350
  6. thinly slice your pears (so each slice is about 1/2 cm thick), and cook them with a little coconut oil over medium until very tender
  7. on a pastry mat, roll dough so it’s about 14″ in diameter
  8. lay pears down, leaving a 3″ border
  9. sprinkle chocolate and goat cheese liberally (feel free to use more or less, or change the ratio)
  10. fold in the edges, pinching any overlapping
  11. bake for 25-30 minutes
    1. be careful–because the crust is chocolate, you can’t really wait for a ‘golden brown’
  12. ENJOY!

Just don’t burn yourself on the super melty gooey wonderfulness!

6 thoughts on “Rustic Chocolate Pear Goat Cheese Pie

  1. Mmmmmmmmmm this pie looks absolutely delightful!
    I too get inspiration from other blogs and recipes, I find it really fun and challenging but rewarding as well to adapt a traditional, sugar laden and gluten-filled recipe to fit my needs 🙂

  2. Lauren, your pie looks absolutely delicious! I love how we both got super inspired and both decided to turn this smoothie idea into a pie!

    I also made mine last week-end. Have to admit they turned out pretty well! One of my favorite creations so far! Gluten free, grain free and refined sugar free (although they do contain honey!)
    Recipe will be on my site soon, but in the meantime, I posted the picture on my fb page, if you want to take a look!

    Now I want to try your version…. with the melting chocolate chips! YUM!

Leave a Reply

