Healthy Pad Thai–Grain Free and Gluten Free

I had a fun and food-filled weekend in Montreal.  We went there for a wedding, and also enjoyed an awesome Easter at my Aunt’s place.   The wedding involved an all you can eat brazillian grill= LOTS OF MEAT.  I think I got my iron quota for the year.  Easter also involved a lot of variety: smoked salmon to start, amazing stuffed mushrooms (that I promise I’ll try to replicate here sooner or later), roasted lamb, barbequed salmon, sausages, bbq shrimp…and A CHOCOLATE FOUNTAIN at dessert.  Yes, a chocolate fountain.  I didn’t photography that, sadly. I was too busy eating it.  So, I ate a lot, and not much of my usual variety.  I definitely broke the rule of 3/4 of a plate being veggies, but I’m correcting that today. 

On the way home, we planned groceries for the week.  One thing was certain, I wanted to eat loads of veggies, and feel a little lighter.  The other goal was to make a healthy pad thai that would satifsy any unhealthy (mainstream) pad thai craving.  I’m happy to report that it was a success.  As I sit here writing, I’m contemplating having seconds.

Another convenient aspect of this recipe, is that if you’re trying to keep passover, and you want to skip the shrimp, it’s passover friendly.  It’s crunchy and flavorful and has just the right amount of kick.  Onto the recipe!

Serves 4.
Core Ingredients:

  • 5 cups sliced cabbage (1/4 inch pieces)
  • 1 large yellow pepper
  • 1/2 vidalia onion sliced
  • 2 large carrots, peeled into strips (this is faster than julienne-ing)
  • 4 chicken drumsticks (or chicken of choice)
  • 16 large shrimp (skip if kosher)
  • 2 eggs

Sauce Ingredients:

  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup chunky natural peanut butter
  • 5 cardamom pods, husks removed, ground
  • 1 can tomato paste (1.6 ounces)
  • 1 t chili paste
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 1 t ground coriander

Topping Ingredients:

  • 1 cup alfalfa sprouts
  • 3 T chopped peanuts
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 3 T cilantro, chopped
    Optional: red pepper flakes

How to:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350
  2. Combine all sauce ingredients, stir well, and set aside
  3. On the stove, over medium high heat, in a dutch oven, melt some coconut oil, and sear the chicken on all sides
  4. Add 2 heaping tablespoons of sauce, mixed with 1 cup of water, to the dutch oven with chicken.  Cover and bake for approx 1 hour (periodically check if you need to add more water to keep things juicy)
  5. Meanwhile…prep all your veggiesAfter the chicken has cooked for about 40 minutes, get ready to cook the veggies.  Add a heaping spoon of the sauce to the pan each time you add new ingredients (every step along the way)
  6. In a large frying pan or wok, heat some coconut oil, cook onions, for about 10 minutes, until soft
  7. Add peppers, cook for another 5 minutes
  8. Add carrots and cabbage, cook for a few minutes
  9. Add shrimp
  10. While the shrimp is cooking shred the chicken (it should be falling off the bone anyways)
  11. Once everything has come together, add crack eggs into a bowl and beat
  12. Make a well in the middle of the frying pan, and pour the egg in, letting it cook until slightly solid
  13. Serve hot, and top with sprouts, peanuts, green onions, and cilantro
  14. ENJOY!

This was so good that I had to jump ahead past some of my planned posts to share this.  Don’t worry, all things risotto cake and plantain will still come.  But I might have to throw in one more recipe before getting to those…you see, Sonia had posted a chocolate pear goat cheese smoothie, and I had been dying to take a crack and that combo of flavours  While I didn’t make the smoothie, I found it pretty inspirational, and this happened:

What would you like to see next? The tart? Plantain fritters? Did you eat anything particularly exciting this weekend?

18 thoughts on “Healthy Pad Thai–Grain Free and Gluten Free

  1. Oh my goodness, I absolutely LOVE pad thai, but haven’t eaten it in months after discovering how many calories and fat were in the pad thai I usually get from my favourite Thai resaurant. THANK YOU for sharing this recipe, I can’t wait to try it!!!

    • So glad you’re excited about this! Restaurant pad Thai can definitely have lots of empty calories, and sugar, especially noodles with zero nutritional value.

      I really hope you like my version! Let me know how it goes :)

  2. oh my gosh that tart looks AWESOME! I made a tart this weekend too, with plums and pistachio. love holidays – great excuse to cook, and blog about it. Def want to try the pad thai recipe! Looks awesome!

    • Thanks! Your tart sounds great. I actually just bought pistachios–I’m getting into the habit of using them a lot.

      If you make the pad thai come back and let me know the verdict :) Enjoy!

  3. Pad Thai is really yummy and delicious. I eat it in a restaurant but i have no idea to how to cook it. Now with the help of your blog i also try this pad Thai recipe at home. Thanks for it.

  4. Hi Lauren,
    Do you have a recipe for macaroons? Grocery stores sells macaroons which is full of sugar. Love, Auntie Barb

  5. I like the idea of a noodleless pad thai. Although I do have to point out that neither peanuts nor soy are kosher for Passover, if you are strictly following the rules.

    • I didn’t know about the peanuts thing until yesterday, or the soy until now! I was thinking more about the pasta…I’m definitely not the most religious. Sorry about those errors, I think I’ll change the title of the post.

  6. Pingback: I’ve Been Nominated! | inspiring healthy living

  7. Looks delish! Do you happen to have the nutritional info/breakdown (calories, fat, carbs, protein) per serving?

    • Hey, thanks! I haven’t done a nutritional breakdown, sorry! This is a feature I hope to bring in around here soon enough, though :) Overall, this would be low carb, decent healthy fats, and a good source of protein as well.

  8. just FYI in your recipe you list using “soy sauce”. For your recipe to be gluten fee it needs to be a gluten free soy sauce.

    • Thanks for the head’s up. There’s been a bit of dialogue about this since, and I have learned about the gluten free soy sauce–so it’s all good, as long as people who need gluten free know to pick the correct sauce.

  9. Your Pad Thai is DELISH!!! I substituted Tamari for the soy sauce and added some rice noodles (I knew I couldn’t get away without any), more cabbage than 5 cups (just used the whole head plus half of a napa cabbage head I had in the fridge) and two bell peppers…it made a ton! I plugged it into myPlate for 8 servings and got the nutritional info…
    Thank you so much for this WONDERFUL recipe!

    Nutrition Facts
    Serving Size: 1 servings
    Amount per Serving
    Calories 297
    Calories from Fat 113.9
    % Daily Value *
    Total Fat 12.65g
    Saturated Fat 4.2g
    Cholesterol 143.99mg
    Sodium 502.65mg
    Total Carbohydrate 15.99g
    Dietary Fiber 5.57g
    Sugars 1.73g

    Protein 32.53g
    Est. Percent of Calories from:

    • Hi Susan! Thanks so much for stopping by! I love that you tried this, loved it, and made your own substitutions. I’m all for that!

      It’s definitely a great option to some of the noodles for the cabbage, and to make a happy compromise.

      Thanks for also sharing that nutrition info–that’s really great :)

Leave a Reply

