Shockingly Healthy Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

I received an email last week from a reader, Marsha who also happens to be a colleague where I go to school studying to become a nutritionist.  Marsha wanted to know if I had a healthy chocolate chip cookie recipe, specifically with flax seed it in.  Now, I am pro-flax seed. If ever I had a cookie recipe, I’m sure it would involve flax seed…so I thought.  And I searched.  And I didn’t.  I had pies. Ice cream. Cupcakes.  Cheesecake. Tarts.  Even whoopies pies.  Two bite cakes. But no cookies?!

I couldn’t believe it–a shockingly healthy blog, with a serious devotion to dessert but NO COOKIES.  After I got over the mild embarrassment I made some cookies.  After all, I was going to get to eat cookies!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of prepped dates (see instructions below) (+ water for soaking)
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1 T vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup spelt flour (or flour of choice)
  • 1/2 cup ground flax seeds
  • 3/4 t salt
  • 3/4 t baking soda
  • 2/3 cup dark chocolate chips (I used mini) (or swap out some for more nibs**)
  • 1/3 cup cacao nibs (or more chocolate chips)

How to prep your dates:

    1. Fill up a measuring cup with your dates, pressing down to make it a relatively packed cup.
    2. Then, add water on top of the dates, filling up to the same point (one cup mark)
    3. Put this in the fridge to soak overnight, before blending, remove a few spoons of the water, depending on how much you had in there (3-6 tablespoons) and then puree WITH the water  (I used a nut grinder, but an immersion blender would probably be okay).
      1. if you’re in a rush, you can use boiling water, soak for 10 mins, and skip the overnight

How to make your cookies:

  1. Preheat oven to 350, grease 2 cookie sheets
  2. Whisk together coconut oil, egg, vanilla, salt and date puree
  3. Add baking soda, flax seeds and flour, and mix well
  4. Fold in chocolate chips and cacao nibs
  5. Shape dough into balls (mine made 16 decent sized cookies–not too small, but not Starbucks sized), place on cookie sheet, and press down*. (these won’t spread)
  6. Bake for 8-12 minutes, depending on desired chewiness, and size of cookies

*at first when I made these, I shaped them into balls, thinking they’d spread.  After a few minutes they hadn’t, so I took them out of the oven, swiftly pressed them down with a fork, and put them back into the oven.  I guess it’s because I don’t have any butter that they aren’t so melty.

On the topic of butter I happened to be walking by a Starbucks and there were cookie samples.  Chocolate chip cookie samples the day after I made my own.  We tasted them.  The verdict? They melt in your mouth…but taste like butter. Like, only butter.  A lot of butter.  Really, these ones here, butterless and all, taste like FOOD.  Yummy cookie food.  ENJOY!

These Cookies’ Bragging Rights:

  • no refined sugar
  • high fiber
  • high protein
  • no butter
  • antioxidant dark chocolate

**Nibs vs. Chips

You’ll notice I used a combination of cacao nibs and chocolate chips.  I found these cookies sweet enough, so I think in the future I’d probably use a 50:50 ratio.  It depends on the level of sweet tooth of who’s eating them.  Cacao nibs add a nice crunch, and rich flavor, paired with the sweetness of the dates, I think they’re enough.

11 thoughts on “Shockingly Healthy Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Since the recipe is using a puree in it.. is the texture Chewy like normal cookies or more like cake texture? I’m asking since I still have not found the perfect healthy cookies recipe! every time I make cookies with purees texture ends up like muffins!
    The cookies look perfect by the way! just wondering about the texture 😉

    • Hi Maya! Thanks for stopping by. The texture is definitely chewy. Dates are pretty dense…and you’re making the puree fresh. Just make sure to watch the baking time to you get ‘chewy’, not ‘crunchy’.

      If you give them a shot, please come back and let me know the verdict! 🙂

    • Hi there! Glad you stopped by. I used whole pitted dates. If you soak them for a few minutes in boiling water, you can use an immersion blender or magic bullet (after removing some of the liquid).

      Stop by and let me know how they went!

  2. Hi I just tried these cookies and they turned out a bit dry and puffy. I thought maybe I didn’t use enough date paste. I did the dates as you recommended but only ended up with 1/2 cup of actual puree. Next time I will try with one cup of puree. Thanks.

    • Hi Lynn, thanks for giving the recipe a try, and for letting me know how it went! When I do it, I make it a generous (packed) cup of dates. I didn’t measure how much puree I had. Mine were a totally different texture than yours–I hope it works out next time! Just make sure you use enough dates. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Pingback: Homemade roll of Ginger Molasses Cookie Dough–Who needs Pillsbury? | Cravings Gone Clean

  4. I made these last night! They didn’t look anything like yours (and I used sultanas and macadamia instead of chocolate chips). But they are delicious! Mine spread a heap in the oven, so I must remember next time to make them smaller! My partner loves them and says they taste like sticky date pudding!

Leave a Reply

