Why you should cheat. On your diet, that is.

I debated about posting this recipe.  I mean, this is generally a shockingly healthy blog. And here I am, jumping on the “let’s put bacon in everything” train. I made bacon peanut butter cups. I confess. I did it. And peanut butter bacon chocolate lollipops.  Dark chocolate.  That’s good for antixoidants, right? Bear with me, I swear I can rationalize this!

It all started with valentine’s day. I bought my boyfriend some interesting chocolate from the Chocolateria on Roncesvalles in Toronto.  He likes interesting things. They had interesting chocolate: peanut butter bacon chocolate.  Hello!  When I’m going to buy food, I like buying things I don’t make.  This I certainly hadn’t made.  And it was a hit.  He ate the whole giant bar in one day.  Yes, he shared a couple of squares.  And it was good.  So good, that I had to try to top it that weekend. Or as soon as time permitted bacon buying.

Firstly, how I made this less guilty:

  • I bought low sodium bacon.  I wish I could say it was organic, but it wasn’t. Then after I cooked it, and drained the fat on paper towel…and proceeded to cut off all the white fatty parts. Only the meat was left!
  • I used natural peanut butter
  • I used dark chocolate (far less sugar, more antioxidants)
  • I used a heart shape mould. (What? that doesn’t give this more happy healthy points?)

Secondly, why you should cheat on diets.

I don’t advocate cheating in relationships, that is crappy with a capital CRAP. And I don’t cheat at board games.  But diets…I think that diets deserve a built in cheat day, or perhaps cheat meal of the week.  Maybe it should be called a “treat day/meal” as that’s a bit more positive.  I’m a trainer, and at the gym where I work we’ve got a weight loss challenge happening. Lately I’ve been talking a lot about food with my clients, and I keep mentioning this cheat day.  When I look at a food journal, and I know that switching from Mozzarella to Low-fat Mozzarella isn’t doing the trick, I ask my clients to move that cheese to their cheat day.  That way, the changes in diets are more tolerable, and nothing is forbidden forever. I think it’s that ‘forever’ or ‘never’ that makes the idea of no bacon peanut butter cups a lot less tolerable.  You can have you cheese…and bacon, just save it for that designated day.  And with that, I share this recipe with you.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 dark chocolate (ideally at least 70% dark)
  • 3 T minced cooked bacon
  • 3 T peanut butter

You’ll need some kind of chocolate mould for this. I used peanut butter cup molds, and lollipop moulds. If you were mould-less, I suppose you could make a bark by spreading a mixture on some parchment.

How to:

  • melt the chocolate in a double boiler
  • if you want to clean this up as I did, trim off all visible bacon fat, and proceed to mince that lean bacon
  • when the chocolate is ready:
    • add a layer of chocolate in the mould
    • add a small glob of peanut butter in the middle
    • layer some bacon pieces on top
    • cover with another layer of chocolate
  • keep in the fridge until set, and beyond

If you’re using lollipop moulds, add the sticks after the first layer of chocolate.

How bad do you think these are? What are your thoughts on this whole ‘bacon in everything’ trend?

Here’s what they looked like in cup form. Excuse the photo, I had to take it on the fly with my phone (I was out spreading the love of pbbacon cups).

Here is one more good looking bite.

7 thoughts on “Why you should cheat. On your diet, that is.

Leave a Reply

