Pumpkin Banana Donut-Inspired Cast-Iron Bake

There are lots of donut recipes popping up that look pretty darn good.  I did take my crack at one awhile ago, with some sweet potato donuts.  Those were delicious, but they did require a little more hands on time.  With a donut pan, it seems you pour the batter in–a little less work.  Alas, a donut pan is one of those toys I haven’t yet acquired. But I wanted that texture..that crispy outside and slightly gooey inside without all the work.  So off I went to create this!

This suited my lazy mood–the dough came together in about 5 minutes! Then all I had to do was grease the cast-iron and bake it.  It’s great for dessert or breakfast…we had it for breafast all week.  And then…I made another!  The first time I made this I had an entire can of pumpkin puree, and 3 super ripe bananas.  The second time I made it, I had less than half of  a can of pumpkin, 2 bananas, and one mango that really needed eating.  So here are 2 versions.  I can’t decide which I like better.  I like it toasted, that’s for sure.

Health wise:

  • These happen to be vegan (I happen not to be).
  • Using spelt flour ups the protein content to make this a more a balanced breakfast. Yes, eat a donut pie for breakfast.  As you can tell, I can’t decide on what to call this :)
  • Super high in fiber, both versions
  • No refined sugar

Ingredients for version 1:

  • 2 cups spelt flour
  • 1/2 cup spelt bran (or other bran)
  • 1/2 cup flax meal
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • 1.5 t baking powder
  • 1.5 t salt
  • 1/4 +1/8 cup coconut oil (+a little more for greasing)
  • 2 T vanilla
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
    • stir 5 squirts of liquid stevia–not drops, squirts, into applesauce
  • 3 mashed bananas (=1 and 1/3 cups)
  • 1 and 2/3 cups unsweetened pumpkin puree

How to:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375
  2. Grease the cast-iron (I used a 12″)
  3. In a large bowl, put all wet ingredients, and puree with an immersion blender
  4. Fold in dry ingredients and mix to combine
  5. Pour into cast iron, and smooth with a spatula
  6. Bake for 40-45 minutes

Version two happened because I wanted to make another…and because I didn’t have the exact same amount of pumpkin/applesauce/bananas on hand. I also had one very ripe banana. And then I remembered all that frozen fruit we bought…so then theTropical Donut Piehappened.  Yes, sometimes, these things happen.  This one has a nice tartness with the addition of the raspberries. The mango adds some sweetness, so I used less stevia.  With everything pureed, the change isn’t too dramatic. It might sound like like a bit of an odd combination, but I often use pumpkin because of how moist it is for baking…not because I want to focus on it’s particular flavor (though I do like it). Onto version number 2:


  • 1 and 1/3 cups pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce (unsweetened)
    • 3 squirts stevia
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 +1/8 cup coconut oil
  • 2 bananas
  • 1 mango, skinned and cubed
  • 2 t vanilla
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1/5 tsp baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 2 cups spelt flour
  • 1/2 cup flax meal
  • 1/2 cup spelt bran
  • 1 cup raspberries

How to version two:

  1. Follow same instructions…except include the mango in your mixture to puree
  2. Pour half of the mixture, smooth with a spatula
  3. Put the raspberries onto the the poured layer
  4. Cover with remaining batter, and smooth
  5. Bake!
  6. ENJOY

And don’t be afraid of improvising in the kitchen! I think my favorite part is the crispy outside you get from the cast iron pan.  I wish more cast iron bake ware was readily available…there’s something about that crispiness!

Leave a Reply

