Spicy Peanut Shrimp Tacos

We all have our go-to recipes.  The ones you make every week or two.  I have to say that in my home, we’ve been on quite the experimental kick of constantly eating new things, but this recipe is likely to go in the weekly rotation.  It all began with a tortilla press.  You see, Cam, my boyfriend, really wanted to make tortillas from scratch.  There were some failed experiments. There were some chats with the guy who made fresh tortillas at the farmer’s market.  He was always trying to make them…but without a press, you can’t get them just right.  I thought, “Hey, you can buy them pretty easily, is this really something you want to make from scratch?” Yes, yes he did.  So a tortilla press, and a tortilla warmer were what he got for his birthday, and you know what?  Even though I don’t want to make tortillas from scratch, I definitely enjoy living with a man who does!  I’ve also started making them too….when you get the right flour it’s so fast, and they are so fresh.  The tortilla warmer is also great for keeping pancakes warm.  Anyway, time to get to this actual dish!

While at the vegetarian food festival I discovered this amazing peanut butter  company: Peanut Butter & Co.  I bought a few flavors, dark chocolate, white chocolate and the most interesting: The Heat Is On.  This is savory peanut butter.  If you can’t find it, you can make your own version using: chili powder, cayenne, crushed red peppers and paprika.  Once I run out of this, I’m sure I’ll be sharing a recipe for my own version. I love peanut sauce in Asian dishes, but taking it up a notch to a spicy peanut butter is a nice change, and a different heat comes with it.  A heat that pairs very well with shrimp and avocado to cool it down.  Here we go!

This recipe serves 2.

For the tortillas:

  • 2/3 cup masa corn flour (this makes everything the right texture–not sticky–instant tortilla!)
  • 6 T spelt flour
  • 2 T flax
  • 1 t ground ginger
  • pinch salt
  • 2/3 cup water

How to tortillas:

  1. Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl and stir
  2. add water, and mix until well combined
  3. divide into 8 equal sized balls
  4. roll them out…or use a tortilla press if you have one!
  5. cook over low/med heat like a pancake
  6. set aside until everything else is ready to go

About the flours:  when previously experimenting, Cam tried using chickpea flour.  That was way too sticky, and created quite a mess.  Then some research was done and Masa Corn Flour was the solution. So we tried it.  And it made amazing tortiallas instantly.  But the thing is, I like to substitute thing, and I don’t like following directions.  I also didn’t like using only corn flour.  So I tinkered with the proportions until I got it right…even sneaking in some ground flax seeds to make it a true Cravings Gone Clean recipe.  These tortillas are tender and wonderful.

Filling ingredients:

  • 14 large shrimp
  • 1/2 red pepper, sliced
  • 1 medium sweet onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 t ginger
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/8 freshly ground pepper
  • 1 t coconut oil
  • 2 big handfulls chopped baby spinach
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced
  • 3T The Heat Is On Peanut Butter

How to filling:

  1. saute onions for 5 minutes on high in coconut oil
  2. add peppers and garlic to mixture, and wait until they soften about another 5 minutes
  3. add shrimp, 1/2 t ginger, salt and pepper and cook until done (keep the whole thing on medium high, because you want your shrimp to get a little caramelized, but not overdone)
    1. In the last minute or two of the cooking, fold in the spinach so it wilts and disappears (this was my way of sneaking some green into the meal)

Serve em up!

  1. Coat each tortilla with the PB, and layer your filling and avocado slices.
  2. ENJOY!
4 thoughts on “Spicy Peanut Shrimp Tacos

  1. These sound REALLY GOOD! I’ve always wanted to try making my own tortillas, and I love the addition of the flax seeds! Alas I don’t own a tortilla press (yet!) either but it’s going on my list! Even if I don’t get around that that soon, I’ll be trying your fillings because it sounds delicious!!!!

    • It’s definitely worth getting one! I never thought I’d see it this way–but the press is actually a time-saver. I’ve even made sweet ones to use as tart shells. Such a great tool! Let me know if you try the filling 🙂

Leave a Reply

