Sweet and savory bread/tart/pie?

Zucchini banana bread crust, cheesecake center, Pear and Goat Cheese Topping.  I don’t know what to call this, other than delicious.  All that cast iron inspiration got to me.  The cornbread was so delicious baked in the cast iron, so crispy on the outside, and moist on the inside that I had to try something else…initially I was thinking more zucchini, and I thought it might end up being like a latka as a base, because the cast iron makes things crispy.  But then my sweet tooth kicked in.  My sweet/savory tooth to be exact, as I do love that combination, and in came the banana.  Banana sweetens the whole thing, although it doesn’t taste like banana per say.  A little goat cheese on top balances out the sweetness.  Yum!  If anyone has any naming suggestions, please help me name this baby.

Other good news? No fined sugar, no butter.  High protein, somewhat hidden veggies, and this can pass for brunch, lunch…and even dessert if you drizzle a little agave on it.  I’ll confess…I did eat it for dinner.

And now, the recipe:

Ingredients:
Crust:

  • 1 cup spelt flour (or sub other flour)
  • 1/2 c spelt bran (or sub oat bran)
  • 1/4 c ground flax seed
  • 1/4 c unsweetened apple sauce
  • 2.5 medium zucchini, shredded
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch salt
  • 1 T vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1 mashed ripe banana
  • for greasing cast iron: coconut oil (or sub butter)

Filling:

  • 1 cup fat free cottage cheese
  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 1 egg
  • splash of vanilla

Topping:

  • 2 pears, thinly sliced
  • 3 T goat cheese, crumbled

How to:

I used a 12″ cast iron pan to make this.

  1. preheat oven to 400
  2. combine all dry crust ingredients in a bowl
  3. in a different bowl, all wet crust ingredients (including banana, excluding zucchini), and then fold the dry into the wet and mix
  4. fold in shredded zucchini
  5. pour into greased cast iron, and press so that it goes up the sides, so you have crust on the sides and the bottom (I used a piece of parchment to help spread it out).  you’re aiming for a 1.5″ border or so
  6. bake crust for 40 minutes
  7. in the meantime, mix together the filling ingredients
  8. after the 40 mins have passed, take your cast iron out of the oven, and pour in the cheese filling, and top it with pears
  9. return to oven for 20 minutes
  10. add crumbled goat cheese
  11. return to oven for 10 minutes, broiling for the final 5 of those 10 minutes
  12. let it sit for at least 10 minutes before serving
  13. ENJOY!

This is super moist.  Like you wonder if it’s fully cooked moist…so leave it in for longer at a lower temperature if you want to dry it out a little, but I found it pretty delicious as is.  If you want to check out my spicy southern inspired cast iron invention, here it isDo you ever bake using your cast iron? Any suggestions?


2 thoughts on “Sweet and savory bread/tart/pie?

  1. I made this last night and it was amazing! I used a springform pan since I don’t own a cast iron skillet. I didn’t have cottage cheese so I subbed with 3/4 non-fat yogurt and 1/4 non-fat feta cheese to equal the 1 cup cottage cheese and then also used the non-fat feta instead of the goat cheese on top. Great recipe that I will definitely make again. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

