Savory Southern Pie, Cornbread and Collard Greens

This pie is southern inspired, and is completely a product of my imagination.  I’ve enjoyed cornbread and collard greens at a couple of great Southern style restaurants in Toronto: Southern Accent, and Harlem Underground.  I’ve never quite seen them combined like this.  Although I’m not from the south, I do think cornbread falls into that comfort food category.

Ever since I got my cast iron pan I had really wanted to bake with it. However, I wanted to do something healthier than just plain old cornbread.   Here it is: a spicy smokey cornbread as the crust, and garlicky collard greens eggs in the middle, topped with tomatoes. Yum! With the combination of spelt flour and cornmeal, this is higher protein.  Next time I might try sneaking some flax seed in.  My favorite part is how the outside gets wonderfully crispy, and the inside is moist and tender. Oh, and how it’s pretty darn healthy.

And now, to the recipe:
I used a 12 inch cast iron for this. 

Ingredients:
Crust:

  • coconut oil (or butter) for greasing
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1/2 cup niblets, drained
  • 3/4 cup spelt flour
  • 1 t sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup almond milk + 1 T lemon juice
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 T agave
  • 1 T chipotle sauce (the liquid from the can of chipotles)

Filling:

  • 5 cups collard greens, washed and chopped (the smaller you chop them the easier the pie will be to cut later)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tomatoes, sliced
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 2 chipotles, minced
  • 1/2 onion, minced
  • 1/2 cup corn niblets

Sauce:

  • 2 Ts plain greek yogurt: 1T adobo (chipotle sauce): splash of maple syrup

How to:

  1. Grease your cast iron, and set it to medium-low
  2. Sautée onion, collards and garlic for about 7-10 minutes, until it’s nice and tender, but not overdone.  Transfer collards to a bowl and set aside
  3. Preheat the oven to 400
  4. In a bowl, combine all dry crust ingredients and mix
  5. In another bowl, whisk together all wet crust ingredients
  6. Fold wet into dry, mixing until just combined
  7. Grease cast iron again (but don’t burn yourself)
  8. Pour crust filling into the cast iron
  9. In a bowl, combine minced chipotles, egg whites and collards and remaining corn
  10. Spread mixture evenly over the crust, leaving a 1/2 inch border
  11. Top with sliced tomatoes, and make it pretty!
  12. Bake for 20 minutes at 400, then lower the temperature to 350 and bake for an additional 15-20 minutes
  13. Let pie set for 5-10 minutes on cooling rack in cast iron before serving
  14. For sauce: I described the proportions so that you make make as much or as little as you like.  This pie makes a lot of servings, so I just made the sauce fresh each time.
  15. Enjoy!

Next time: more New Years thoughts on diet and your health, including how I fixed my iron levels by eating things like this.

5 thoughts on “Savory Southern Pie, Cornbread and Collard Greens

  1. I LOVE this idea! I’ve never seen anything like it and can already taste it in my mind and can tell it would be amazing! This is getting pinned to my “I am SO making this board!” I’m going to do it in the cast iron like you did as well – so crunchy and yummy! I love that it’s so healthy too! The yellow and orange tomatoes instead of the red was really inspired as well – it’s beautiful! Very creative idea!!

  2. Pingback: How I am fixing my iron levels with dark leafy greens and my cast iron pan | Cravings Gone Clean

  3. Pingback: Sweet and savory bread/tart/pie? | Cravings Gone Clean

Leave a Reply

