Spinach Zucchini Tomato Quiche

We’re taking a break from my thoughts on New Years resolutions to look at a quiche.  Although it does fit into the theme I had with yesterday’s post, to DIY your food.  Quiche is one of those things that you make make very healthy so easily if you make it yourself!  But in restaurants and stores it can be overloaded with buttery crust, white flour and tons of cheese.  Sure, I love cheese, but do my hips?  How I compromise on cheese is by using a little bit of a stronger cheese, rather than a lot of a milder cheese throughout the quiche.

I got a very nice tart/pie pan, which meant it was time to make a very pretty quiche.  I made this the same night as my matcha cheesecake.  It was a night to break in some pans!
I was in a rush to make everything, so I turned to Sonia the Healthy Foodie to grab a crust recipe.  So visit her site for that.  But here is my filling:

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1.5 cups egg whites
  • 1 tbsp italian seasoning
  • pinch of red pepper flakes
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 2 tbsp flour (I used spelt)
  • 5 cups of fresh baby spinach, chopped
    Topping:
  • 1/2 zucchini, thinly sliced
  • 1 yellow tomato, thinly sliced
  • handful of cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 2-3 tbsp goat cheese, crumbled

How to:

  • make Sonia’s crust, but press it all into one large pie pan (and grease it beforehand)
  • pre-heat oven to 350
  • in a bowl, whisk together eggs, egg whites, flour and spices
  • chop spinach, and fold it into the egg mixture
  • put your topping veggies on top, and make it pretty!
  • Bake for 30 minutes at 350, then reduce temperature to 325, and bake an additional 20 minutes
  • Enjoy!


I have to say that I’m going through a bit of a pie phase.  In the near future, you’ll see recipes for these:

Next time, my final installment on New Year’s resolutions.

4 thoughts on “Spinach Zucchini Tomato Quiche

  1. Pingback: How I am fixing my iron levels with dark leafy greens and my cast iron pan | Cravings Gone Clean

Leave a Reply

