New Years Resolutions: Don’t deprive yourself. Always have dessert.

Today is the second installment of my series about new years resolutions related to healthy eating and weight loss/management.  I like today’s topic a lot, because I LOVE dessert.  Perhaps you already knew that, I mean, I did make this ridiculously awesome cake.

Don’t deprive yourself. Eat healthy desserts.  My dad often says, “A meal isn’t a meal without dessert.”  Eating dessert is definitely part of my routine, even if it’s just a small piece of dark chocolate.  I need that sweetness to complete the meal.  Before discovering healthy desserts and clean eating, I would yo-yo diet. This started at the beginning of high school.  Most diets involved a lot of deprivation, and you know what? When you’re told you can’t have something you want it even more.  My solution? Healthy desserts.  With every recipe I create, and every recipe I discover by other healthy bloggers online, the more I am completely certain that there is no reason to eat anything that is bad for you. And now, a recipe to illustrate this point.

Today was going to be a quiche recipe day, but I think this theme calls for dessert. And I have the perfect one. Chocolate Peanut Butter Squares. 
This dessert does not taste like a healthy/diet dessert in any way.  It could be sold along all sorts of goodies at a bakery, and no one would ever know that it has no refined sugar, and no butter.  It’s crazy like that.  I adapted this from The Healthy Foodie’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Energy Squares.  Trust me, those were mouth watering enough.  When I saw that post, I was ready to make them immediately!  But in her post, Sonia did mention that she wished she could up the protein content a bit, and lower the fat.  Well, Sonia, I did just that!  I was excited to tackle this recipe makeover, as Sonia inspires me so much with her recipes.  I mean, I’ve been eating her Squash Coconut Curry a lot these days.  Onto the recipe:

Ingredients:

Layer 1 (bottom):

  • 1 cup sliced raw almonds (preferably soaked overnight and drained)
  • 2/3 cup dates
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup flax meal
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup flake cereal (I used some super protein flax bran flake type of thing)
  • pinch salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Layer 2 (middle):

  • 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt
  • 90g vanilla whey protein powder

Layer 3  (top):

  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 2 T agave
  • 4 T greek yogurt

Topping:

  • 3 T chopped roasted peanuts

How to:

I know that’s a long list of ingredients, but this is pretty easy to make.

  1. For layer 1:
    1. combine dates and almonds in food processor, and pulse to break them down a bit
    2. add other layer 1 ingredients and pulse/blend until well mixed, and it forms a big ball (scrape down sides as you go, if needed)
    3. Press into the bottom of a square pan or pyrex, that is lined with parchment (I used some parchment under my hand to do the pressing, as it made it a lot easier, and less sticky)
  2. For layer 2:
    1. Blend coconut in small bowl of food processor for a few minutes
    2. add remaining ingredients and blend well, again, it will turn into a big ball of goodness
    3. spread out/layer evenly on top of layer 1 (use the same trick with the parchment on your hand)
  3. For layer 3:
    1. mix all ingredients in a bowl until smooth
    2. spread evenly over other two layers
  4. Top with peanuts
  5. Throw it in the fridge, and try to wait at least 4 hours before cutting into squares.  If you can’t wait that long, it’s okay.  You’re only human.
  6. Enjoy!

Want another chocolate peanut butter high protein fiber idea?  Remember this:

 

 

8 thoughts on “New Years Resolutions: Don’t deprive yourself. Always have dessert.

  1. Loved this post! I made something similar but I like your version with the layering. Can’t wait to try this recipe.

  2. Thanks, Mellissa! As far as desserts go, these are in fact pretty low carb…greek yogurt, protein powder, nut butter…protein! You could make a crustless version right now 🙂 Although I do appreciate your low carb experiment happening, I’m liking the recipes.

  3. Pingback: New Year’s Resolutions: DIY your food | Cravings Gone Clean

Leave a Reply

