Egg Nog Pancakes, and Egg Nog Syrup

I was tempted to challenge myself to see how many different things I could make using egg nog.  Including the actual egg nog, which started out my holiday series, I have now made 4 egg nog recipes.  Yesterday I had eggnog cupcakes, recipes for single serving and a batch of 12.  And I’ll all out of egg nog, and eggs!  However, I’m starting to think that there is no end to what I could make out of eggnog.  And it’s such a delicious flavor, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg. Yum.  After tomorrow’s post I will explore other flavors again. But for now, start the day holiday style with egg nog pancakes!

This recipe serves 4.
Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup spelt flour (or flour or choice)
  • 1/4 cup quinoa flakes (or rolled oats, or more flour)
  • 1.5 cups egg nog
  • 2 T cinnamon
  • 1.5 T vanilla
  • 3 T agave (or honey, or syrup, or stevia–but if it’s stevia use less)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1.5 cups egg whites
  • 1 tsp baking powder

How to:

  1. Preheat griddle/pan, and oil it
  2. Combine all wet ingredients, and whisk together
  3. Combine dry ingredients in a separate bowl
  4. Gradually add the dry to the wet, whisking away
  5. When the pan is heated, pour on the batter (I like to use a 1/8 cup measuring scoop to pour the batter to keep them all the same size)
  6. Make your syrup!

Egg nog syrup ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup egg nog
  • scant 1/4 cup syrup
  • splash of vanilla

Stir everything together, and serve over pancakes.  ENJOY.  I topped mine with toasted coconut, and a cupcake topper, just to make it extra fancy.  Why not?  I might have the urge to put cupcake toppers on everything now…  If you don’t think it’s egg nog overload, you can serve it with a glass of egg nog…maybe sneak in a shot of espresso too!

Here’s another idea that is completely holiday worthy, that does not contain egg nog. It’s a big recipe, so perfect if you need a lot of peanut butter chocolate goodness to go around.

 

 

One thought on “Egg Nog Pancakes, and Egg Nog Syrup

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Covered Flourless Egg Nog Cake | Cravings Gone Clean

Leave a Reply

