Shockingly Healthy Egg Nog

Okay, I’ll admit it: part of why this egg nog is sooo healthy is that there is no rum in it. But I was never into egg nog for the rum, I liked the taste. If I’m choosing where to have less nutrient dense calories, I always pick dessert over alcohol.  Traditional egg nog has a lot of sugar. I don’t even enjoy having that much sugar at once.  I used to dilute it with regular milk so it wasn’t as sweet.  How about a sugar free version, that’s even thicker and creamier than traditional? Well, that is what I have whipped up! It’s ridiculously rich and creamy, and very high protein!

Before I get to the recipe, I have to thank The Healthy Foodie, because a few key aspects of this recipe were definitely inspired by her amazing hot chocolate smoothie that I made for breakfast the other day. I learned a few tricks from her with that smoothie, so thanks, Sonia! And now, to the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2 whole eggs, and 2 additional egg yolks
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese (I used 0% fat)
  • 3 cups almond milk
    (or milk of choice, but unsweetened almond milk is only 40 calories a cup, which is less than half the calories of a cup of skim milk, and it’s way creamier–just saying!)
  • 1 cup water (or milk)
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp nutmeg
  • stevia to taste (I used about 30 drops for the whole batch)
  • 2 tbsp washed and finely chopped irish sea moss* (optional, this serves as a natural thickener/creamy texture enhancer)
  • optional garnish: toasted coconut and cacao nibs

How to:

  1. Separate your whites from your yolks for 2 of your 4 eggs. Toss the 2 whites you won’t be using in a container to use later
  2. Combine the 2 yolks with the 2 whole eggs in a large bowl, and whisk
  3. Add protein powder to mixture, and whisk.  Set aside
  4. Add remaining ingredients to a large pot, and heat on medium low
    1. I added all ingredients, and used my immersion blender to smooth out the cottage cheese. If you don’t have an immersion blender, you can throw it all in a regular blender, and then transfer it to the pot.
  5. Heat mixture while stirring regularly for about 12-15 minutes.  You want to do this slowly, and you don’t want it to boil.
  6. Once mixture is heated through, brace yourself for the most coordination you’ll need (this is why there’s no rum around for the recipe):
    1. Slowly pour the hot mixture into the egg mixture, whisking all the way
    2. Whisk some more!
  7. Top with optional garnish: toasted coconut, cacao nibs…more cinnamon!
  8. Enjoy!
  9. Serve this as a party, and watch as your guests marvel at how great this tastes, despite it being healthy (or don’t tell them it’s healthy until after they’ve indulged a lot, this will be your gift to them!)

This is less on the sweet side, but I found it just right.  You can always have some sugar, maple syrup, or stevia out so guests can add a little more if they so desire. You can always add, but you can’t take away the sweetness.  Tomorrow I’ll show you something else you can make out of your egg nog, if you have any left, that is!  Maybe you should make a double batch…If you’re having this as a breakfast smoothie, poured over oatmeal, as a post-workout snack you might need a few batches.  Because you can happily use this for all those purposes!

Why is this egg nog so good for you?

As I mentioned, traditional egg nog is high sugar, which isn’t so great.  This egg nog, however, has no sugar.  The one good thing about traditional nog is the egg yolks.  Although people worry about eating too many, egg yolks are actually very important.  The whites might be a great source of pure protein, but all the nutrients are actually in the yolk, not in the egg whites. Egg yolks contain vitamin E, Biotin (important for healthy skin, fat metabolism and dna +rna synthesis), Choline (important for your nervous system, cell membranes) to name a few.  Can you tell I wrote a test about vitamins today?

*What’s that random last ingredient?

Irish sea moss is maybe the best superfood you (probably) haven’t heard of. It full of vitamins and minerals, including zinc, selenium, B-vitamins, vitamin C, and iron to name just a few.  I won a bag of it at the vegetarian food fest, from the lovely Meghan Telpner.  Check out some more detailed info about irish sea moss on her website here. Even if you’re not a vegetarian, it’s great to learn tricks they have for things like thickening sauces, soups, or smoothies.  A healthy substance that makes things rich and creamy sounds good to me!

11 thoughts on “Shockingly Healthy Egg Nog

  1. Pingback: Egg Nog Cupcakes: Single Serving, or Batch of 12 | Cravings Gone Clean

  2. Pingback: Egg Nog Pancakes, and Egg Nog Syrup | Cravings Gone Clean

  3. WOW, ok, this looks AH-MA-ZING! I’d been meaning to do something exactly like that, but couldn’t even inspire my own self to come up with such a great recipe. 😉 I’ve made a few trials so far, but wasn’t really satisfied with the results that I got. Not enough to post, anyway. But yours looks like it’s a huge success. Looks so thick and creamy! So glad to have inspired you, and thank you so much for all the love! YOU ROCK! 🙂

    • Thanks! It’s definitely thanks to that smoothie of yours! Your use of cottage cheese in that: amazing. I think it’s going to become a definite staple around here again…love those thick creamy smoothies!

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Covered Flourless Egg Nog Cake | Cravings Gone Clean

  5. I made this eggnog tonight and It is sooo good. I can’t believe how good it tastes and how healthy it is. I doubled the recipe and am going to double it again on Thursday to have sufficient quantities for an xmas gathering I am hosting where I definitly WILL be adding rum to it! Lauren, thanks so much for the recipe. You’re directions were easy to follow. I appreciate you adding in little ‘common sense’ things that just aren’t always common sense to everyone (put egg whites aside for later use, pour in mixture SLOWLY etc.). Anyways, thanks again L:)

Leave a Reply

