Very Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins

Although it’s been a little while since I last posted a pumpkin recipe, I can’t say that I haven’t been using it at home.  Pumpkin season may be over, but I still like having at least one big can of puree in the pantry, for when the desire to make something creamy and delicious should strike. This is a big recipe, which fed us for a week! Feel free to half it.

Pumpkin is a great main ingredient, but I also like using it too add a lot of moisture in baking, and even to substitute for oil.  These were moist and tart.  Hearty but not too heavy. You could throw them in a parfait, like this one. I made these a little while ago when I was doing the candida diet (which meant I had to really watch my sugar intake).  Cranberries were the only fruit allowed, and so I opted to use them.  Tart and unsweetened and all.  I also used stevia in this recipe to take the edge off, given the complete lack of sweet ingredients.  They turned out well, and were a refreshing change.

These are definitely a superfood muffin.  Cranberries help to ward off all kinds of bad bacteria, like those that can lead to urinary tract  or yeast infections. Chia seeds and flax, and pumpkin seeds help you get some healthy fats, like omega 3. The pumpkin seeds also add a nice crunch, which I really liked!


  • 2 cups pumpkin puree (unsweetened)
  • 1.5 cups egg whites
  • 2.5 cups almond milk
  • 1 tsp liquid stevia (or alternate sweetened, like maple syrup or agave to taste)
  • 1 cup spelt flour
  • 2 cups oats
  • 1 cup oat bran
  • 2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2/3 cup flax seeds
  • 1/3 cup chia seeds
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 2 cups frozen cranberries (or fresh, but whole, not dried…although you could use dried I suppose)!

How to:

  • preheat oven to 350
  • line your baking cups (this made about 30!)
  • whisk together all wet ingredients
  • mix together dry ingredients (except pumpkin seeds and cranberries
  • gradually add dry to wet, mixing until combined
  • fold in pumpkin seeds and cranberries
  • pour into muffin molds
  • bake 18-22 minutes
  • ENJOY!

Call me crazy, but I think you could build an amazing stuffing out of these guys!  Thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Very Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins

Leave a Reply

