Make it a Matcha Morning

Matcha green tea powder has hit the mainstream, meaning I was able to find some in the health food store.  How exciting!  This is one ingredient I’d been envious of for a long time.  It’s pricey, but a little goes a long way.  I made these for breakfast to cover a few mornings.  They were a great way to change things up!  What makes them really special is the tropical filling.  Now that it’s December, it’s time to get a little tropical breakfast to start your day. It also doesn’t hurt that they have no refined sugar, and are high in fiber and protein.  Noticing a pattern? I might be young, but it’s never too early to get some good fiber in the a.m. This recipe happens to be vegan!

This recipe serves 6.

Batter Ingredients:

  • 1 cup oatmeal
  • 1 cup oat bran
  • 1 cup spelt flour
  • 4 tbsp matcha powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • t tsp vanilla
  • 1.5 cups almond milk
  • 1/2-1 tsp liquid stevia (depending on sweetness desired, or add a little honey or agave)

Filling ingredients:

  • 2 bananas mashed
  • 1/3 cup flaked coconut

Optional toppings:

  • vanilla greek yogurt (or plain greek yogurt with some vanilla protein powder mixed in…or ricotta with a little sweetner)
  • more coconut (toast it this time!)
  • banana slices!

How to:

  1. preheat oven to 350
  2. combine all dry batter ingredients in a bowl
  3. whisk together wet ingredients
  4. gradually add the wet to dry, whisking away
  5. grease or line your ramekins (or giant muffin tins)
  6. fill with batter 1/2 way
  7. evenly split filling amongst the ramekins (make sure you’re fair, or they’ll get jealous), leaving a 1/2″ border from the edge
  8. top with remaining batter
  9. bake for 25 minutes
  10. If it’s not quite done, feel free to broil for a final 3-5 minutes if you want a crunchier outside
  11. enjoy!

Having breakfasts like this made in advance makes life easier on the week days. I just keep them in the fridge, and pop them in the toaster oven at about 300 degrees for 10 minutes to warm them up, or just eat them straight.  So much better than an eggo…although, if I got my hands on a waffle maker, I might be tempted to make a waffle version of this. Hmm…

5 thoughts on “Make it a Matcha Morning

  1. Pingback: Recipes by llarabee - Pearltrees

  2. This looks absolutely delicious! I keep looking around for the right type of matcha – it seems I can only find the bags. ^^ I hope that you find your waffle maker soon – I was very excited with mine.

    • I found my matcha in the bulk section of a health food store, it was hard to find, so keep looking! What type of waffle maker do you have? I’ve had them in the past, and they’re always so hard to clean. I definitely want to make my own waffles though!

Leave a Reply

