Savory Spinach Pancake Stack

The spinach streak continues.  You can sneak this stuff into anything, but I seem to be making it the centerpiece.  A few months ago I discovered this recipe, by Spabettie and have been playing around with my own versions ever since! I thought this was a genius way to use up spinach.  Today, it was a great lunch.

The pancakes are pictured above stacked with roasted red peppers and zucchini.  I’ve served them for brunch with a spiced ricotta and lox.  I also like to make them the bottom of a benedict, with a fried egg on top.  They are very versatile.  I’m going to be embracing savory recipe for the next couple of weeks, as I’m on a bit of a cleanse.  I’ll give you the pancake recipe, and then I’ll tell you a little more about what is inspiring this savory streak.

Ingredients: (don’t be intimidated, half this list is spices!)
Serves 4.

  • 6 big handfuls baby spinach
  • 1 cup egg whites
  • 1 tbsp parsley
  • 1 tsp rosemary
  • 1 tsp dill
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 onion, chopped roughly
  • 1 cup buckwheat flour*
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour*
  • 1/4 cup ground flax seeds
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds

How to:

In the food processor**:

  1. pulse together onion and spinach
  2. add all other ingredients except the egg whites
  3. pulse for a couple minutes, until its roughly combined
  4. continue to pulse while adding the egg whites through the feed tube
  5. when it’s relatively blended, just run the food processor for a minute or so
  6. transfer batter to a bowl, for easier scooping
  7. cook them like regular pancakes
  8. ENJOY!

Presentation trick: If you’d like all your pancakes to be the same shape, use a 1/4 cup measuring scoop to the the pouring.

*Because I’m going gluten-free for a little while, I’ve used buckwheat and rice flours, and some other additions.  Feel free to swap out the flours.  In the past, I’ve used a combo of spelt flour and oats, and these have turned out great.

**If you don’t have a food processor, you could probably get away with chopping the spinach and onion up really finely.  In that case, I would combine all other ingredients, and then fold in the spinach and onion at the end. If you try this, let me know if it works!

I like these so much that we planned for leftovers.  Here stands the tower of savory pancakes:

About this savory streak:

I’m doing a candida cleanse (it’s basically to reset your balance of good and bad bacteria in your digestive system).  Before I went to school for nutrition, I hadn’t heard of candida.  It’s a bacteria we all have, but at time it can get out of whack.  If you want to read more about it, check out this website.

While I always bake using no refined sugars, and in a healthful way, I need to cut out all sugars (even from fruit), as well as gluten for two weeks while I’m on the cleanse.  I also can’t have dairy.  Today is day three, and I’m happy to announce that I do not have a headache from the coffee withdrawal! (Oh yeah, no coffee either). I figure it’s time to celebrate what I can have.  And ultimately, having less sugar is good for everyone. And if you can do that in a tasty enjoyable way (I wouldn’t have it any other way), that it’s a good break from my usual recipes.

I’m very lucky not to have any food allergies or intolerances. This week I’m getting the taste of the gluten-free life.  It’s one more reason to make everything from scratch, and to get a little creative.  I did have a few sweet desserts lined up (that were no added sugar, but not without natural sugar sources), but they’ll have to wait until the cleanse is done.  Really, it would be torture to write about chocolate today…to write about the giant reese inspired cake I made a couple weeks ago…It tasted like a flourless dark chocolate cake, meets a reese cup…sigh.  Luckily it was served at a party, and there’s none left, so there is no temptation. Just the photos to stare at. Back to what I can have! I’ve also made some zucchini biscuits that are spicy, and taste like an indian appetizer. And today, for the first time, I made gluten free crackers!  They’ve vege based, and very, very addictive.  Here’s to more green food, that tastes great!

Leave a Reply

