Top 5 things I learned in month 2 of nutrition school

An apple a day keeps the doctor away. No, that’s not actually on my list. You already knew that.  But I did make some apple chips! But first, read my top 5.  You might actually learn something.  And that, in addition to apples, is good for you.

This month was a bit of a departure, academically.  I took the more spiritual slanted classes this month: Ayurveda and Psychology of Disease. I have to say I’ve become a bit of a science nerd, because I missed learning the more scientific food stuff.  I think I compensated for that by spending way too much time writing recipes, many of which you will see very soon!  Let’s jump to the top 5 from Ayurveda:

  1. Salt isn’t all bad.
    I think that salt has too much of a bad reputation at the moment, and I blame packaged, processed foods. You see, salt used as a preservative all the time, so if you’re eating anything packaged, your salt intake is adding up very quickly. (If that’s what you’re eating, I would tell you to watch your packaged food intake on top of your salt intake.) However, if you’re eating fresh, whole, unprocessed foods, it’s okay to add a little salt! 
    Here are some important facts about salt:

    -it helps protein digestion
    -it keeps your stomach and intestines free from toxins and gases
    -it helps your water retention (You don’t want to bloat, but you are 68% water. Let’s keep it that way!)
    -a salt free diet can actually lead to mineral deficiencies
  2. Be present.  Be in the moment.  Don’t eat in front of the T.V.  Make eating social, and make it about the food.  Chew your food…properly.  This gives helps you access the nutrients.
  3. Go with the seasons.
    This one feels pretty self-explanatory, but really, do we always listen? If it’s cold out, use your food to help you warm up! If it’s warm, let your food cool you down. This serves as another reminder to go local and fresh because:
  4. The fresher your food, the higher the nutritional value.
  5. There are many ways to detox.  Detoxification should be an ongoing process. There are so many kits and products out there that make detox look like a whole big thing, which it can be.  Really, we’re just talking about releasing toxins from your body.  While I don’t want to knock those more major detoxes, I’d like to sing the praises of the habits you can get into, that will add up long term:
    1. Drink lots of water (that’s the obvious one)
    2. Starting your day with warm water with lemon + salt (cleaning effect will take place in 10-15 minutes)
    3. Dry brushing.
      Dry brushing stimulates your lymphatic system, which helps to expel toxins.  It’s also a cheap way to exfoliate and get glowing skin!  I picked mine up for $8 at a health food store.
    4. Sweat it out.
      Sweating, whether it’s in a sauna, or through exercise releases toxins.  It’s also great for stress. Just be sure to stay hydrated.
    5. Spices are great.
      Spices have so many beneficial properties.  One, they make your food tastier without adding any calories.  They also stimulate your metabolism.  Some are antibacterial, like ginger!

It’s good to be exposed to different things, but I have to say I’m excited to get start some core classes that are really focused on food.

We can’t have a post without a recipe.  Sometimes, I make things to see if I can.  I did that once with Van Gogh’s Starry Night.  Recently, I did the same with apple chips.  Then butternut squash chips.  Yup. Just to see if I could.  I don’t have a dehydrator, but I have an oven!
Butternut Squash chip success:
How to:

  1. preheat oven to 200
  2. thinly slice whatever you’d like to make chips out of
  3. line a cookie sheet (or two) with parchment paper
  4. spread out your raw chips in a thin layer, no overlapping!
  5. season (use cinnamon for apple or butternut squash, but be creative!)
  6. bake for 1 hour, then flip
  7. bake 45 mins-1 hour more
  8. let cool, and enjoy!

Lastly, one of my recipes was chosen for this fun site, Knapkins. It’s like hot or not for food. Also, you can guess the ingredients. Please vote for mine!  Thanks 🙂

Next time: donuts take a deliciously healthy turn.  Stay tuned. 

7 thoughts on “Top 5 things I learned in month 2 of nutrition school

  1. I love this post!! because:

    “go with the seasons” and “the fresher your food…” YES!

    dry brushing!

    apple chips. girl, you and I are on the same wavelength. I just made apple chips, they were glorious! I cut them the same way so I could see the stars… 😀

    • Thanks, Kristina! Yes, I love the stars 🙂 I am addicted to dry brushing now. If I forget to do it, my legs feel like they’re itching for it. But my nighttime routine is getting longer and longer! You have to try the butternut squash chips.

Leave a Reply

