French Toast is a Verb

Sunday is the perfect day to take your breakfast to the next level.  I’m going to let you in on a little secret: I like to think of “french toast” as a verb.  Yes, to many, it’s known as a specific food, which it is, in the traditional sense.  You dip bread in an egg mixture, you fry it, and you top it with syrup, fruit, or whatever you think is the best topping.


Why can’t dipping any appropriate substance into an egg mixture be part of the same food group? Yes, “french toast”, just became a food group.  During my undergrad, I remember french toasting Shreddies.  Yup.  This is a weird food confession here.  I’d put them in a bowl with some whisked eggs, let them soak a bit, and then pour the mixture into a small pan, so I’d wind up with one circular Shreddie egg concoction.  I don’t think I did this in front of my roommate.  I mean, he though the fact that I watched a lot of foreign films was weird.  What would he have thought of my Shreddie french-toasting?  I have also enjoyed a good french-toasted eggo.  If you’re out of bread, and are craving french toast, believe me.  It does the trick.

What I bring to you isn’t as crazy as Shreddies.  After all, I am suggesting you french toast a bread.  Banana bread.  The awesome part of this, is that if you use egg whites, you’re simply making your breakfast more protein rich.  If you use the banana bread recipe I posted yesterday, you’ve already got a nicely balance bread with complex carbs, fiber, and a great serving of fruit.

The topping I’m featuring is one of my favorites.  I don’t like things to be super-sweet.  I love the combination of peanut butter and apple.  I also love banana and peanut butter.  This sauce has peanut butter that is lightened up by using apple sauce as a base. The peanut butter adds a richness, and just a little syrup keeps it sweet enough. To me, it’s the best of all worlds when it comes to french toast toppings! You could even have it on plain toast, or use it to top pancakes.  Throw it on a sundae.  The possibilities are endless.

This recipe serves 2.

Ingredients:

  • 4 slices banana bread (provided it’s still good, the older the better. The more moist it is, the more challenging it will be to get it to soak up the egg mixture)
  • 1/2 c – 3/4c. egg whites, or 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce
  • 3 tbsp syrup (I use no sugar added E.D.Smith)
  • 3 tbsp peanut butter (I used natural)

How to:

  1. Preheat and prep your pan. I use a temperature just slightly below medium.
  2. This step is optional:  You may find it helpful to lightly toast your banana bread before you dip it.  This will dry it out a little.  The less moist it is, the more it will absorb the egg-mixture.  (This tip also works with regular fresh bread, if you want to make it more absorbant)
  3. In a bowl, combine egg whites/eggs and vanilla.  Whisk together.
  4. Dip bread in egg mixture.
    (When I do this, I like to let the bread soak for a minute or two, so it’s got more of a chance to grab the mixture.  I rotate the slices as I do this).
  5. Place slices on the pan.
  6. If you have an remaining egg mixture, pour it on top of the slices in the pan.
  7. Cook for a few minutes on each side, until golden.

    To make the topping:

  8. Combine remaining ingredients.

Lastly, I simple can’t resist giving you a preview of the crazy ridiculous cake I made.  The recipe will probably come within the next couple of weeks, so do subscribe or check back.  I have a lot lined up to share between now and then!  With my Psychology of Disease and Ayuverda classes wrapping up, I’ll have another Top 5 things I learned in school to share with you.  And of course, the other day I previewed a whole other whack of photos, with recipes to come.  But in the mean time, let me wet your appetite with a few shots of my kitchen adventure today:

P.S. This cake has no refined sugars.  It’s also protein and fiber rich.  But it tastes like a cross between a dark chocolate flourless chocolate cake…and a peanut butter cup.

Leave a Reply

