Pumpkin Power Cookies

Today wraps up my pumpkin series!  I do have another can in the pantry, so don’t think there won’t be any pumpkin recipes showing up from time to time.  There are so many more pumpkin things to do!  I didn’t do pumpkin blintzes…and I didn’t share my pumpkin ricotta pasta. I did share pumpkin breakfast bakes, pumpkin apple bread pudding, and pumpkin cheesecake!

Sadly, I realize now that I didn’t do a Halloween post!  However, you can easily decorate these with scary faces if you so desire…

I like to have a dense little snack hanging around.  These guys are gluten-free, vegan (assuming you use vegan protein powder), and a fit food. They pack some energy, but they’re small and dense so you won’t feel bloated. They’re great for a pre-workout boost (if it’s first thing in the morning before your workout, or you need a little zing at the end of the day before working out.) If you haven’t eaten for hours, you’ll get more out of your workout if you have a little powerful snack beforehand.

Of course, because they taste great, they’re also a decent dessert or snack!


  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup dates (dry pitted)
  • 2/3 cup walnuts (or another nut of choice)
  • 1 cup natural peanut butter
  • 2 scoops protein powder
  • 2/3 cup flax seeds, ground
  • 2 tbsp cinnamon
  • extra nuts or chocolate chips for rolling/topping

How to:

  1. In the food processor, pulse the dates and nuts for a minute or two, until they’re broken down
  2. add everything else
  3. blend until smooth, scraping down sides a few times
  4. transfer to a bowl
  5. refrigerate for 20 minutes minimum (but you can leave them longer if you like)
  6. roll into cookie shapes, and top with nuts or anything else if you like! I used walnut pieces in the photo above, and chocolate chips in the photo below

Storage: I like to make these in advance, and keep them in the freezer. I wrap each one in a little parchment paper so they don’t stick together.  I actually prefer the taste out of the freezer.  Something about the density of the ingredients keeps them from freezing solid.  If you keep them on you all day, they get a little melty, so bring an ice pack.

Are you dressing up for Halloween?  I’ve got a costume I’m pretty excited about…but not sharing what it is until after.  Last year, my boyfriend and I won a costume contest with this costume, Disney animated Robin Hood and Maid Marion:

It was a proud moment.  I hadn’t won anything since the coloring contests of my youth! What was your favorite costume you’ve created?


4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Power Cookies

  1. You guys look absolutely fantastic in that costume. Such a cute couple, you two are. Adorable! Unfortunately, I myself am not a big Halloween fan, so I never dress up. In fact, I almost hide in my closet on Halloween day. ;)

    Your little pumpkin cookies look very tempting. I’ve been thinking that I need to try a similar recipe. I happen to have a brand new can of pumpkin puree in my cupboard, and am sort of craving something pumpkin… this looks like it might happen very soon for me!

Leave a Reply

