Pumpkin Breakfast Bakes

Back to the pumpkin series!  These are sooo moist and yummy! I ate them for a week straight.  And I could eat them for another week…but then I would have nothing new to blog, and we can’t have that! They are good, though!  They’re also sturdy enough to be eaten on-the-go as a giant pumpkin oatmeal muffin-type thing.  These are wholesome with some great grains to give  you some fiber, protein, and energy in the a.m.  I swear, these will turn you into a morning person, if you aren’t one already.

  Top them with syrup, some cinnamon ricotta cheese (just mix it together with some sweetener), or, of course, greek yogurt!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 2 cups pumpkin puree (I used canned unsweetened)
  • 1 and 1/2 cups egg whites
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1/8 cup molasses
  • 1 cup spelt flour
  • 1 cup oat bran
  • 1.5 cups oats (I used slow cooking large flake)
  • 1/2 cup ground flax meal
  • 1-2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • sweetener to taste (I used 5 packs stevia)

How to:

  1. Preheat oven to 375
  2. combine all set ingredients
  3. fold in dry ingredients
  4. pour into greased ramekins (this made 8 for me)
  5. bake for 25 minutes, broiling for the last 2

What’s your favorite way to eat pumpkin?  I’ve got a pumpkin “cheesecake”, and pumpkin apple bread pudding. I enjoy pumpkin puree mixed with ricotta on whole wheat pasta as well! (with a nice balsamic reduction, of course). I would like to expand my savory pumpkin recipe repertoire. Any ideas?  In my next post, I’ll share these guys, which are pumpkin-based as well!

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Breakfast Bakes

  1. It’s good having to keep a blog sometimes, it forces us to move on to the next dish when we get stuck like that. I too will have favorites sometimes and just can’t stop eating them. I get the feeling that when I try this one, I too, will get stuck! My, does it look good! I’ll have to find a way to turn the recipe into a single serving though, else, I’ll be eating this for a week straight (mind you, I’m not sure that this would be a bad thing… )

    Gorgeous recipe, Lauren. 😀

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Power Cookies | Cravings Gone Clean

  3. These looks beyond AMAZING! Does this recipe make 2 servings? Have you ever tried substituting the spelt flour for another type of flour (almond, coconut etc…)? Just curious…Thank you! 🙂

    • Hi Sarah,

      Thanks so much! This actually makes 8! I generally aim for 1/2 serving grains in one serving. Right now I’ve got a mix of 4 diff grains including the oatmeal and flax seed. You can definitely try it with another flour, though I haven’t…but I always change things up like that. In my experience, coconut flour absorbs a lot of moisture, so that may change the texture (or you may need to add more almond milk), but almond might do the trick. Please let me know how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

