Eat the Rainbow. I’m not talking about Skittles.

 

Last week I went on a field trip to an artisanal farm, Cookstown Greens for my nutrition and the environment class.  Artisinal implies that many of the crops are sold to fancy restaurants. Those chefs appreciate crops that are grown slowly, where the soil is cultivated naturally to be super healthy. The colors were very rich. There were edible flowers.  There were carrots that were purple on the outside, with orange on the inside…they had miniature peppers, beets shaped like carrots (they’re easier to cook), and the most delicious cherry tomatoes I’d ever eaten.  I ate half the bag on the way home.  I swear those tomatoes were laced with something…I’ve never eaten so many tomatoes. I snapped this shot before finishing up the addictive tomatoes. They also had purple and white, but those were all eaten!

The farmer’s philosophy was the richer the color, and the better the taste the better the food is for you.  These tomatoes must have been super foods! They put together some variety bags for us to buy.  Here’s what I got:

It was a pretty rainy day…so my friend Jessica and I armed ourselves with emergency ponchos.  We did need them, and tried to embrace the rain.

When we got home, and we enjoyed the veggies, I felt like they passed the test of “organic is tastier”. We just used a little oil…and they were so flavorful.  Check out those pretty swirly beets!  Shown here with my thai inspired meat balls.

Then the weekend rolled around…and we’d just bought a brand new dutch oven, so we thought that wine and slow cooking would be another way to enjoy the fresh veggies.  Here they are, all happy and drunk:

If you haven’t tried the farmer’s market yet, please do so!  Your taste buds will thank you.  If you’re in the GTA and you’re interested in checking out produce from the specific farm I went to, they are at the Evergreen Brick Works Market.

This post can’t be over without a recipe!  I will share the meat balls with you!  They were originally inspired by those awesome peanut satay style appetizers you can enjoy at thai restaurants.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp fresh grated ginger
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
  • 2 tbsp peanut sauce (or 1 tbsp peanut butter and 1 tbsp soya sauce)
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup bulgur (or oats)
  • 1 lb extra lean ground chicken

How to:

  1. Preheat oven to 450
  2. Combine liquids in a bowl and mix well.  Add chicken.  Make sure to get your hands really dirty…and then add the bulgur at the end.
  3. Roll into balls (this made about 24 meatballs)
  4. Bake for 35 minutes, flipping them halfway

I find these go well with lots of things.  You can have them as an appetizer, and make your own spicy peanut sauce to serve them with.  You can throw them on top of some wilted spinach (or fresh).  Or, you can put them on top of a bunch of fresh veggies as shown above!

What’s up next?  A healthy pumpkin addiction, of course! Comment and let me know which you’d like to see next:

Pumpkin Power Cookies:

Pumpkin Baked Oatmeal:

or Pumpkin Apple Bread Pudding:

I think this month is an ode to pumpkin.  So moist and creamy.

4 thoughts on “Eat the Rainbow. I’m not talking about Skittles.

  1. I love your meatballs! You’ve inspired me to make some sort of Swedish meatball dish, with nothing Swedish about it…

    I really look forward to the baked oatmeal recipe. Now that looks YUMMY! Can you tell that I like my carbs? 😉

Leave a Reply

