Apple Galettes – Thai Inspired

Ever since I’ve been going to the Farmers Market to buy produce, I’ve been really excited about seasonal recipes!  Although I’m not excited for the weather to get cool, I am excited for fall inspired recipes. I’m just waiting for the butternut squash to show up.  In the meantime, apples season is starting for Ginger Golds (my new favorite apple).  They’re very flavorful!  And the farmer gave us free apples to sample, so he won points there…but I liked them enough to buy a whole peck!

Then I was faced with the task of using up these apples.  Today I’ve made a healthy version of an apple galette…or blossom? It’s kind of like a strudel but in more of a galette/blossom shape.  Anyway, it tastes good!  I’ve had the idea to do some sweet thai inspired recipes lately.  I LOVE when I see peanut butter and coconut in savory dishes, so I wanted to blend them in a dessert.  Here it is!  It’s not extremely sugary, but I really like the blend of flavors.  It also just happens to be vegan.

If you’re looking for more a traditional apple dessert, you could always take out the ginger, peanut butter out the the filling, and add some cinnamon.  Also, if you like your desserts on the sweeter side, you may want to adjust the amount of agave.  To each his own!

First, make the dough:

In the food processor, pulse the following dry ingredients:

  • 1 and 3/4 cups spelt flour (or flour of choice)
  • 1/4 cup flax meal (or sub with flour)
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Then, add the moist ingredients.  This would be the part of the traditional baking process where you’d be cutting in your butter, but I’ve added some guilt-free butters.  Pulse in the following:

  • 1/4 cup natural peanut butter (or nut butter of choice)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (this could be vegetable shortening or butter…but the coconut oil works very nicely, and has to healthy fats and a nice rich flavor!)

Then, pulse in my ‘buttermilk’, which is the following mixture:

  • 1/3 cup almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice

Remove dough from food processor, and place in in a bowl in the fridge for about a half hour (it’ll be less sticky, and easier to work with.

This might be a good time to preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

While the dough is firming up, make the filling:

  • 5 apples shredded (or sliced or chopped…but shredded really gives it a strudel texture)
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp minced fresh ginger
  • 1 tsp coconut extract
  • 1/3 c unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 4 tbsp agave nectar (or swap in honey or sugar if you don’t have agave)

I liked the texture of the shredded apple, but it did mean I had to strain it, and squeeze out the excess liquid as I was working.

  1. Shred apples in food processor, or chop them by hand.
  2. strain apples if necessary
  3. Mix coconut and ginger in with apples
  4. in a separate bowl, mix all other filling ingredients
  5. mix everything together

Bringing it all together:

  1. Take out your dough, and divide it into 9 balls
  2. On a floured surface, with floured hands and a floured rolling pin roll each ball out until it is about 7 inches in diameter
  3. Put filling the the middle of each galette (try to leave at least a 1.5 inch border of dough)
  4. Fold up sides, and pinch edges together, so they maintain their shape
  5. Bake for 25-30 minutes

I love them in desserts, but I also love to use them in curries to add some sweetness to a spicier dish. What’s your favorite way to cook with apples?

7 thoughts on “Apple Galettes – Thai Inspired

  1. these look beautifully rustic and sound incredibly flavorful! I love the addition of nut butter, and the ginger is always a great pairing with apple in my book! The last thing I baked with apples – dog treats for Basil 🙂 he loves them.

    • Thanks! Peanut butter and apple is a go-to snack for me, but this took it to the next level. I saw your dog treat post–they look good…and all ingredients are people friendly (where’s the line between a treat and a dog treat?) Size?

  2. This looks amazing! I can already see myself sitting at my desk and enjoying one of those babies as my afternoon snack at work. This will happen SOON! Just look at that crust. It looks so YUMMY!

    By the way, this is the 3rd recipe I’ve added to my must try list tonight… I think I better refrain from exploring your site more, I’ll end up adding the entire thing to my list!

    You are definitely going on my blog roll, though, that’s for sure. I LOVE LOVE LOVE your site.

    • Yeah, these were so tasty..I need to make them again. We went through them so quickly! I love your must have list! So proud to be on there! I will add you to my blog roll asap! And I will also be sending you an email in the near future…but I have an exam tomorrow morning, so this is all the commenting I’m allowed for now! So happy to have “met” you this week, Sonia! And thank you thank you, I love you site too! I want to take photography classes from you…

  3. Thank you so much Lauren, that is so sweet of you to say. I sure am extremely happy to have met you too! It will be an honor for me to be on your blogroll. Tanks for adding me.

    Looking forward to your email!
    Oh, and I went apple picking yesterday… guess what I’ll be making very, very soon? 😉

Leave a Reply

