Very Berry Scones

I love scones.  I had a major scone phase when I was in undergrad, when I tried to bake to fulfill my coffee shop cravings myself, and a little save money.  That baking spell followed more traditional recipes, and of course, eventually I cut them out, while trying eat more healthily.  These scones don’t have any sugar or butter!  As usual, I have replaced sugar with dates.  The recipe I started with wasn’t too bad, but I have added some grains that give you more bang for your buck, and swapped out the regular milk for almond milk.

Here we go:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.



  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup flax meal (replace with flour if flax isn’t your thing)
  • 1 1/4 c spelt flour (replace with any flour you like–but I love spelt, plus today I read it’s awesome at delivering nutrients throughout your body!)
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 dates (pitted)…or if you want to splurge and have no dates, feel free to use 1/4 sugar OR 1/8c sugar, 1/8 unsweetened apple sauce


  • 1/2 cup almond milk (or skim, or soy..any milk of choice)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • cinnamon if you love cinnamon
  • 1 egg white (if you’re vegan, omit and replace with soy or almond milk or apple sauce)
  • 3 tbsp coconut oil (or canola if you prefer)


  • 1/2 c blueberries
  • 1/2 c raspberries

Feel free to use whatever berries you like!  I used frozen, so the dough got quite sticky.  Fresh would be better.

I used a food processor, but you can do this all by hand.

  1. mix dry ingredients in food processor
  2. add dates and blend until they are finely broken down into mixture (if mixing by hand, finely chop dates)
  3. combine wet ingredients
  4. slowly add wet ingredients to dry,  kneading dough (or through feed tub while pulsing if using food processor)
  5. transfer dough to bowl
  6. add berries!
  7. roll out dough (flour hands and rolling pin, and surface)
  8. cut into triangles (mine made about 18 petit scones–feel free to make larger ones, just watch your baking time)If you like, you can skip the rolling and cutting part, and have round scones, or more of a freestyle shape.  I just wanted to try making the triangle ones you often see.
  9. Place on cookie sheet (I covered mine in parchment).
  10. Bake for 20 minutes.
  11. ENJOY.

Don’t skip step 11.

5 thoughts on “Very Berry Scones

  1. Thanks for the idea! I never knew you could replace sugar with dates. After reading this Mom’s Guide to Caring for Little Teeth (, I was inspired to take out many of the processed, sugary foods in my family’s diet (I have a 4yo) and replace them with healthier versions. I love scones too. Will have to try these.

    • You’re very welcome! Yeah, dates are great. They’re sweet, but they are a nice alternative to refined sugar, and they’re super moist too. Lately I’ve found that I can replace sugar with dates in most recipes. I like things that are sweet but not supersweet, so I’m happy with the substitution. Let me know what you think!

  2. Pingback: My thoughts on food, before my formal education on the topic begins | Cravings Gone Clean

Leave a Reply

