Chipotle Chicken Pizza

I always try to eat healthy, but about a month ago I was really taking it to the extreme, while on the eat clean diet Stripped plan.  I wanted to lose my happy relationship weight, as my boyfriend had moved in, so I really wanted to get back on track.

Ever since Panago Pizza opened up across the street I had discovered my new favorite Pizza Flavour: Chicken Chipotle!  It’s sweet and spicy and wonderful.  After a couple of weeks on the Stripped plan, I was definitely experiencing some cravings.  The only solution was, pizza for breakfast!  I could have my carby meal if I made it myself, so I could make the crust super thin and healthy, and if I ate it early in the day, when I’d have time to use that wonderful pizza as energy.

Preheat oven to 425.

I have an old oven, so I like to pre-heat it when I start prepping whatever I’m making, but if you have a fancy new oven, by all means wait until closer to baking time.

The dough:

In a small mix:

  • 1 packet active yeast
  • 1/2 cup warm water and
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar

Let this sit for 10 minutes.

In a food processor (or bowl, if you want to work the old fashioned way), mix:

  • 1 cup oats (slow cooking)
  • 1/2 cup flax meal
  • 1 and 3/4 cups spelt flour
  • slowly add 1/2 lukewarm almond milk
  • slowly add yeast mixture when it’s ready

Knead!  Or blend!  Then punch! Don’t punch the pizza dough if it’s in your processor, get it out first.

I have to say, I do not have the talent of spinning dough in the air.  If you’d like to teach me, by all means, I would love to learn! But alas, the next step is to put the dough on some parchment paper with flour, and to roll it out with a rolling pin that is also covered in flour.

The at-home difference: I found I could get this fresh home-made dough thinner than I could ever get store-bough pre-made dough.  This was exciting, as I ended up with 2 pizzas!  We froze 1.

The Sauce:

Mix 1 small can tomato paste, with 5 tablespoons of the paste/sauce that in in a can of chipotles.  Pull out a few chipotles and chop them up, and mix them into the tomato/chipotle mixture.  You can adjust the amount of chipotle sauce/chipotles to your liking, depending on desired spicyness.

Toppings:

  • chicken
  • 1/2 can corn (no sugar added)
  • 1 yellow pepper
  • 1/3 vidalia onion, thinly sliced

I like to spray or drizzle the pizza with a little olive oil, particularly for the veggies before it goes in the oven.

I pre-cooked the chicken while I was working on the dough.  I used 2 breasts, which worked out to 1 per pizza.  Sauteed some strips in some olive oil and chipotle sauce.

When the crust is thicker, I usually use my ingredients to press down to help spread out the dough, but this was not necessary this time.

Bake for 20-25 minutes. All ovens are different, so keep an eye out!

As you may have noticed, there is no cheese present.  I’ve found that when trying to cut calories, omitting cheese is a very easy way to stay on track.  This pizza is so spicy and sweet, and those flavors would overpower the cheese any day.  I really didn’t miss it.  If you want the the cheese, by all means, add it!  Cheddar or jack would be amazing!

2 thoughts on “Chipotle Chicken Pizza

  1. My grandma used to make something very similar to this and it was fantastic. Thank you for the wonderful recipe. On that note, she also used to make creamed tuna on toast. Do you have a recipe for that that you could provide me? Thanks in advance!

    • Hi there! Thanks for visiting. I’ve actually never heard of ‘creamed tuna’, although I’ve used tuna in sandwiches a lot. My favorite way to do it is to mix the tuna with greek yogurt (just as creamy as mayo, but high in protein, and fat free!). I add dill, parsley, and some grainy mustard. I can definitely make a post about this in the near future, so please check back soon!

Leave a Reply

