Green bread and….tuna, not ham. Definitely not spam.

I’m back!  My apologies for the serious delay, it has been awhile.  I resolve to update at least twice a week, and have some ideas on how to get myself there–one which will involve healthy versions of recipes by request! That will probably come in the next post.  The one thing I can say is that although I haven’t posted, I’ve accumulated a lot of shots of things I’ve made.

Sometimes recipes come out of what you have left in the kitchen, and also what I want to use before it expires.  We usually buy a big box of spinach each week.  There are weeks where we eat a lot of salad, and weeks where it goes a little more slowly and I try to find a creative way to use it up.

Spinach bread with tuna and apple

This week (or a couple of weeks ago, when I made this) I had spinach to use up, and yeast.  I also had a brand new food processor, which is pretty much my favorite thing, and amazing for so many recipes.  If you’ve ever thought of investing in one, I suggest it, especially if you like homemade dips, and dough made easy.

Back to this recipe–so, my need to use up spinach and yeast sent me on a search for a good recipe for spinach bread.  This was actually harder to come by than I anticipated.  There are many variations of spinach rolled into pre-made bread, but definitely less of pure spinach bread.  I didn’t expect to find anything where spinach was the main ingredient, but I was pleasantly surprised. Eventually, I found a Pesto Spinach Bread, courtesy of Mark’s Daily Apple. He’s go a great website with some other recipes I’ll definitely be trying out.  Thanks Mark!  I made my own adjustments to the bread, based on dietary stuff, and what I had on hand.

Here’s my version:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease a pie dish, or use parchment paper (which I think makes life easier…though I wonder if it’s recyclable?)

In the food processor (or blender…or use an immersion blender carefully in the sink so as not to splatter everywhere…):

-5-7 cups fresh baby spinach, packed tighly (I just take it by the handful and eyeball it)
-2 eggs
-4 egg whites (1/2 cup liquid egg whites)
-1/2 c. walnuts
-onion powder, salt and pepper to taste
-3 cloves garlic
-1 tbsp ground dill  (or fresh if you’ve got it)
-1 tbsp ground parsley (or fresh if you’ve got it)

Blend everything until smooth, but not too smooth.  Pour into pie dish, and bake for 15-17 minutes or so.

Eating it!

First I served it on the side for dinner with some salmon.  Next time I used it for breakfast, and made a Benedict type of thing (should have photographed it).  What you see above is my final use of it.

-It was thick enough that I could cut through it horizontally
-I mixed some tuna with a little dill and mustard (Sweet with Heat from President’s Choice to be exact.  We’re a little addicted to it).
-I added sliced apple (maybe a quarter of an apple)

It was very refreshing, with a little spice.  It’s got lots of protein and a good serving a veggies and fruit.

3 thoughts on “Green bread and….tuna, not ham. Definitely not spam.

  1. Pingback: Growth and Love |

Leave a Reply

