Cheeeesecake

When I was at Randolph, we used to have this vocal warmup, where we really worked to get resonance of sound into our whole bodies. There was a part of it where we got to mention a food we craved…and cheesecake always seemed to be it!

I volunteered to make desert for Cam’s family’s easter dinner. I made it yesterday.  It’s good to make cheesecake the day before, as you want to make sure it has enough time in the fridge before serving (at least 4 hours for a big cake like this).

Now, as much as I’ve eaten my fair share of cheesecake, I haven’t made that many from scratch. When I’ve made it before, it’s usually been single serving with cupcakes.  As I was making this for a lot of people, I went on the hunt for a recipe. I often do that…and a lot of things will look alright, but then something different will stand out, and you know it’s the right one. Like the cake has chosen you. This was one of those cakes.

I found this recipe on Allrecipes.com Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cheesecake.  Basically, you make a crust out of chocolate wafers, and bake that (Cam helped by doing this for me).  Then you make cheesecake batter, and cookie dough separately. You pour the cheesecake batter in, and then drop balls of cookie dough in.

When it’s baked, it still tastes a bit like you’ve got raw cookie dough embedded.  The perfect combination of yumminess!

Now, I do have to work on the presentation side…my friend Kayla showed me how to smooth out the topic, even after it’s settled (a great trick: you heat up/use the back of a spoon).

Food photography is another thing I’ll be working on…but here’s a slice:

Lucky for my waistline, I ate one slice, and the rest will be left if Ottawa.


Leave a Reply

